
Outlook
Part of How to label evidence for email marketing software change without a forecast
Five email software signals worth watching as 2027 planning begins
Five dated signals for England email-software planning in 2027, separated into observed facts, announcements and conditional decision scenarios.
Email marketing software 2027 planning for England works better as monitored signals than as a forecast. This non-ranked list gives five email software signals to watch through 31 December 2027, each with a dated source, a named product and a retirement test.
Research closed on 5 September 2026. The editorial desk included a signal only when a current UK official record or a first-party receiving-service page could support it. It excluded vendor roadmaps, market-size reports, unnamed surveys, prices and product rankings. Geography and population stay attached to every source. No supplier funded the work, and no platform or campaign was tested.
What to take away
- Treat each of the five changes as a monitored signal, not a prediction about the England market.
- Every signal needs a named owner, an evidence date, a geography and a retirement test.
- Receiver rules such as Google's sender guidelines are independent controls set by the receiving service, not by its customers.
- A dated ICO update, a published receiver requirement or a contracted edition can start a controlled review.
- Improved security evidence is the signal, not a badge or a sales statement.
- Name the product and the editionMailchimp, Dotdigital, Brevo, Klaviyo and SendGrid, with the plan and limit in the register.
1. ICO guidance and consent tools keep moving
Observed fact: the ICO's direct marketing guidance records an April 2026 update tied to the Data (Use and Access) Act commencement schedule. This is UK-wide regulatory guidance, not evidence of software adoption.
Consent tools by plan
Dotdigital
- Free tier
- No
- Monthly sends
- Annual contract
- Consent storage
- Preference centre
- Pricing basis
- List size
Brevo
- Free tier
- 300 emails/day
- Monthly sends
- 300/day
- Consent storage
- Per contact
- Pricing basis
- Free plan
Mailchimp
- Free tier
- 500 contacts
- Monthly sends
- 1,000
- Consent storage
- Audience settings
- Pricing basis
- Free plan
Planning scenario: further clarifications arrive before the end of 2027. The data-protection owner monitors the page version and maps each change to message classification, collection evidence and objections. The trigger is a dated ICO update; retire the scenario if no relevant update appears by the horizon.
Consent and preference features carry the practical load. Dotdigital, based in London, sells its preference centre and consent tools on annual contracts priced on list size. Brevo's free plan allows 300 emails a day and stores consent per contact.
Mailchimp's free plan covers 500 contacts and 1,000 sends a month, with consent fields inside the audience settings. Preference data sits in the platform, so the ICO page version and the platform version can drift apart.
2. Receiver rules remain an independent control
Observed supplier record: Google's sender guidelines state requirements for email sent to personal Gmail accounts. Bulk senders must keep a spam rate under 0.3% and offer one-click unsubscribe. The population is defined by Google, not by the sender's location.
Sender tools and costs
SendGrid
- SPF/DKIM/DMARC
- Yes
- Free tier
- 100/day
- Cost
- Free tier
- Access
- Standard
Mailgun
- SPF/DKIM/DMARC
- Yes
- Free tier
- Not stated
- Cost
- Not stated
- Access
- Standard
Postmark
- SPF/DKIM/DMARC
- Yes
- Free tier
- Not stated
- Cost
- Not stated
- Access
- Standard
Amazon SES
- SPF/DKIM/DMARC
- Yes
- Free tier
- No
- Cost
- $0.10/1,000
- Access
- Production request
Planning scenario: a receiver revises authentication, formatting or unsubscribe handling. The deliverability owner watches first-party change logs and test-domain results. A published requirement or repeatable rejection code starts a controlled review; absence of either prevents a speculative platform change.
SendGrid, Mailgun, Postmark and Amazon SES expose SPF, DKIM and DMARC records to copy into DNS. SendGrid's free plan covers 100 emails a day. Amazon SES lists about $0.10 per 1,000 outbound emails as of 2026 and requires a production-access request. Google Postmaster Tools tracks reputation and spam rate for a verified domain.
3. AI moves from labels to bounded tasks
Observed UK evidence: ONS analysis of AI in UK businesses from 2023 to 2026 uses Business Insights and Conditions Survey data. Its population and measures are not email-platform users in England.
Klaviyo AI writes subject lines and predicts send times; the free plan covers 250 contacts and 500 sends a month. HubSpot Breeze drafts copy inside Marketing Hub, whose free tier allows 2,000 sends a month. Salesforce Marketing Cloud Einstein scores engagement, while Brevo and Mailchimp bundle AI subject-line and copy suggestions into existing plans.
Planning scenario: an exact contracted edition offers generation or classification for a defined email task. The product owner tests synthetic inputs, approval, logs and rollback against the manual baseline. Stop if personal data leaves the approved route or a generated claim lacks evidence.
4. Security evidence becomes part of product change
Observed policy record: the NCSC's Software Security Code of Practice is voluntary guidance for software providers and a prompt for customer discussions. It does not certify a supplier.
Mailchimp publishes SOC 2 Type II coverage. Dotdigital holds ISO 27001 accreditation, and SendGrid and Braze release SOC 2 reports to customers on request. Ask for product, version, assurance scope and expiry rather than a logo.
Planning scenario: buyers request more precise evidence about development, vulnerability handling and customer notices. The security owner records product, version, assurance scope and expiry. The signal is improved evidence, not a badge or sales statement.
5. Accessibility and claims stay separate from automation
Observed standards record: the W3C accessibility overview separates content, authoring-tool and user-agent guidance. A generated template can still create barriers for operators or recipients.
Parcel flags accessibility issues in HTML email inside the browser. Litmus and Email on Acid fold accessibility checks into paid plans and per-seat subscriptions. Neither tool approves copy or replaces a manual test.
Planning scenario: more automated content increases review demand. Accessibility and advertising owners test their own gates. CAP's substantiation guidance supports holding documentary evidence for objective claims before publication; it does not approve generated copy.
These signals justify a watch register, not a purchase. Record owner, evidence date and geography. Then observable trigger, action and retirement test. Recheck the list when guidance, receiver rules, the contracted edition or the organisation's message population changes.
The register should also preserve the receiving service, affected recipient domain and first observed behaviour. That stops a later reviewer from misreading a global supplier rule as an England market change.
Before you act
- Record owner, evidence date and geography. Then trigger, action and retirement test.
- Check the ICO direct marketing guidance page for dated updates.
- Watch first-party receiver change logs and test-domain results.
- Confirm SPF, DKIM and DMARC records inside SendGrid, Mailgun or Amazon SES before the next send.
- Test synthetic inputs, approval, logs and rollback against the manual baseline.
- Preserve the receiving service, affected recipient domain and first observed behaviour.
- Hold documentary evidence for objective claims before publication.
Common questions
What counts as a valid signal for this watch register?
The desk included a signal only when a current UK official record or a first-party receiving-service page supported it. It excluded vendor roadmaps, market-size reports, unnamed surveys, prices and product rankings. Geography and population stay attached to every source, and no supplier funded the work.
How should a team react when a receiver changes its rules?
The deliverability owner watches first-party change logs and test-domain results. A published requirement or repeatable rejection code starts a controlled review. Absence of either prevents a speculative platform change, so the team does not move on rumour alone.
Why keep the receiving service and recipient domain in the register?
The register should preserve the receiving service, affected recipient domain and first observed behaviour. That stops a later reviewer from misreading a global supplier rule as an England market change. It keeps geography and population attached to each recorded signal.



